30
Sep
08

Kendo tidbits #1

So here’s the deal, from time to time, I’ll post about Kendo. What is Kendo you ask? Well that’s why I linked to Wikipedia just right there, just for you.  Ok so you are lazy and don’t want to click the link.  Well basically, Kendo is (nowaday) a competitive martial art that uses shinai to fight.  Those are a long sword made out of 4 bamboo sticks, representing a Japanese sword aka a katana.  I wouldn’t compare it to fencing (not that I know much about fencing), but it has a few similarities. So I’ll make you discover Kendo slowly by telling you my experiences as a beginner kendoka, from time to time.

This is what a shinai looks like

This is what a shinai looks like, mine has a lot of red stains on the handle, due to my shinai bag's inside being red.

I’ve started practicing Kendo back in May, so I have more or less about 4 months of experience so far, practicing usually twice a week, with a few skipped practice for different personnal reasons.  As for equipment, outside of the shinai right now, I’m using sweat pants and a tshirt, but by the end of November, I’ll be able to wear hakama and keikogi, and by next summer, the whole armor (bogu). Normal practice are usually about practicing your form, your footwork and your swing.  But every last Tuesday of the month, we practice Kendo KATA.  Those are done with a bokken or a bokuto (wooden katana), and are more complex combinations between two partners.

Those are divided between two types and require extreme concentrations, at least for a beginner like me.  The real katas, which are almost like a dance, is very choregraphed and has one follow the other’s move.  The second type, is newer apparently, and is more about practicing form and swings in a more practical way.  Yes, I know, this isn’t very clear, but tonight is only my second time doing those, so I’ll probably come back to it some other time.  And for now, that’s all.  Look forward for more!


1 Response to “Kendo tidbits #1”


  1. October 1, 2009 at 8:38 am

    Hi, I’m looking forwared to reading your experience(s) of being a beginner as I’ve forgotten what that was like. May your choice lead you down a continued path of happiness.

    Re: two types of Kata, can I ask….. are you referring to Kihon as one type, i.e. Men, Kote, Do & Tsuki… Kote, Men….Haria Men, etc. and then Kata as the send type, i.e. Hidari Jodan and Migi Jodan as the opening for Ipponme?

    I’ll pop in from time to time and see how your getting on 🙂

    Take it easy and remember…… train hard, fight easy!


Leave a comment


We are not here anymore

Come see us at The Save Points!
September 2008
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives